Users with appropriate rights can re-send the existing password or generate a new password to forgetful users. Below is a guide describing this process.
- First enter the administration (or manager) tab of your Activate LMS. Please note that color and style can differ, but headlines, links etc. are located and organised the same way in all systems.
- Press the Resources button on the main toolbar.
- Click the Users link.
- If needed, you can now search for the specific user you want to resend or generate a new password to. If no criteria is specified, you will be presented with a list of all the active users registered in your LMS. If you want to learn more about the options for searching, please refer to this article (and navigate to "The user section"). Press the Search button to get a list of users in line with your specified search criteria.
- Whether you specified search criteria or not, you should be presented with a list of users. If none appears try to repecify or broaden your criteria. After identifying the user you want to resend or generate a new password to, press the Edit button. In the example below I wanted to resend a password to the user "jjensen".
- Now this is where the magic happens and you can finally get to re-send or generate a new password. You should be presented with a form that should looking similar to the picture below.
- If you clicked the wrong user, you can easily return to the list of users by pressing the Back to list of users button in the bottom left of the form.
- Depending on the situation you can send a new generated password or resend the current password, by clicking on the links Resend or Send new. After pressing re-send or send new, the browser will ask if you're certain that you wish to proceed with your selected action. If the email is send successfully a feedback acknowledging the action will be presented. Please note that success only implies that the mail has been send and not that the recipient has received it. Therefore, a re-send password to a miss-typed or non-existing email will appear as a success. If it turns out that the users email is wrong, you can immediately edit the email in the Email field and press the Update button.
- Great success! The forgetful user should now be provided with a password of some kind.